Marian Holt

Abandoned on the side of the road, I was rescued and raised by multi-millionaire parents. At the tender age of 5, my adoptive parents recognized my amazing talents and ensured they thrived. By age thirteen, I won the Nobel Peace Prize for my creation of world peace, and by age eighteen, I had earned a degree in economics, a master’s degree in philosophy and a PhD in criminology. By 25 years of age, there was nothing left for me to learn, so I ventured into the world of creative writing.

Dear Readers,

The above is totally untrue. I was struggling to come up with a bio for my website. I perused a number of author’s bios and came to a couple of depressing conclusions: I wasn’t a renowned author (this is after all my first novel), I didn’t have tons of money (although that is a dream!) and I haven’t made a huge impact on anyone in this world. So what to write?

Readers, my personal bio is no different than most of your lives!

I was born in Montreal, Quebec and two years later my father was transferred to Portage la Prairie where my sister was born. If you’ve read the acknowledgements of 14 Days, this is the same (and only) sister that has the brilliant legal mind. She has made me very proud to be her big sister, and I will always be proud to stand behind her.

After learning about sand dunes and these really gross bugs called ticks that suck all your blood (did you know they only come out after your parents have burned them with a match? Sometimes we even got burned because we were hopping around too much and my mom was struggling to hold us still so my dad could burn the tick out. EEEWWW!), we moved to North Bay, Ontario.

My best memory of living in North Bay was winning the Easter contest. I have no idea what the contest was, but I do remember the prize: a huge solid chocolate bunny, surrounded by cream eggs and all sorts of other goodies. Knowing I didn’t live too far away, the principal offered to walk me home with my prize. I have to admit, I was a brat that day! Rather than taking the direct route home, I brought the principal on a merry long walk around the entire base before “finding” my house. That poor man! His arms must have been ready to fall off!

Two years later my father was transferred again and we landed in SHAPE, Belguim. (For those in the “not-know”, SHAPE stands for Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe). This was the NATO base where my father worked for the next four years.

I have too many memories of Belguim to even begin writing them down. Suffice it to say, my parents ensured that both my sister and I had a vast education in cultural differences, colours of skin, religious differences and learning to simply accept people for who they are, not what they are not.

For this, I will always be grateful.

High school was a chore for me. I remember calling the military at 16 years old to see if they would take me. After all, my dad had joined the military when he was young, why couldn’t I? Well, turned out I needed to graduate high school first.

Strike one.

I perused the want ads looking for a full time job. Two weeks of trawling through the classifieds proved fruitless. No one wanted to hire a 16-year old with no high school education. Okay, I lied there. I would have got a job, but I wanted to make more than $4 an hour. Let’s face it, I wanted to move out and be an ADULT, I had to make more than $4 an hour if I was to survive.

Strike two.

I tried to convince my parents that a high school education wasn’t really necessary for me to succeed in life. My parents agreed, and told me that if I left high school, I had to leave home and get a job.

Strike three.

Ultimately, I received my high school diploma and then started working for the government. My very first job was an administrative position (secretarial for “my generation” of women!) I scored large at that job because my boss proved to be the best mentor a person could ever want.

He encouraged me to go back to school and get a degree. Working full time and going to school at night was a huge challenge. But, seven long years later, I graduated from university with a double major in criminology and sociology and a double minor in psychology and women’s issues.

I entered the field of corrections and was prepared to blaze a new trail of “rehabilitation” with the clients I was working with. A year later, my idealist beliefs had been flushed down the drain, but I continued with the challenge. I did, however adopt a more realistic view on life. Helping one person, who really wants the help, was much more rewarding than trying to help twenty people that wanted nothing to do with you.

In no way do any of my novels reflect any events while I worked in the field.

For the last three years I’ve worked at other jobs, enjoying new challenges, the change of environments, and meeting new people.

I have lots of “free time” but can’t just sit still. I have a big ol’ dog that I love to take on long walks, swims and “meet and greets” at off-leash dog parks. I spend lots of time with my two parrots: teaching tricks and encouraging my own African Gray, Echo, to talk. Late at night, my favourite past time is cuddling up with my cat and a 500+ page book.

That’s about all I have for now. Thank you, reader, for spending some of your time on my website. Be sure to check in regularly as I’ll be updating my blog, posting excerpts from my upcoming novels, and answering any questions you might have.

Have a wonderful day, and remember, life is short – take time to smell the roses!

Marian Holt

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: